Government - City of Lexington


Lexington was founded in 1836 and is incorporated as a city in the State of Illinois. With a population of 2,060, according to the 2010 Census, it is a non-home rule city. Lexington is organized as an Aldermanic form of Government. The City’s legislative body is the City Council that is composed of two Aldermen from each of three Wards. The Mayor, City Clerk, City Treasurer, and Aldermen are elected positions. Orderly behavior and community development are encouraged by Lexington’s Municipal Code. The City’s Municipal Code was codified in 2010 by General Code, LLC.

City of Lexington Logo 329 West Main Street
Lexington, Illinois 61753
(309) 365-3331

Website by Business Builders Marketing